Still here, but…

I cannot believe how long it took me to finish those flannel pj’s!  But they are finished and I am quite proud of them.  Reviews and pics after Christmas though.  They’re presents after all.  I can’t wait to show you.  I am so proud of my work.

I loved the flannel quality; it was yardage from Fabric.com (unfortunately all the holiday flannels are all sold out, but there are other flannel prints there still).  It is so thick, warm and fuzzy.  Perfect for keeping cute little kids cozy on a winter’s night.  :)  

I have two knit jammies to make and a sleep sack.  I have the most adorable airplane camo knit from The Fabric Fairy.com for Jack and for my niece Haley a Christmas-y red and white stripe knit that reminds me of candy canes.  Then I have to make some bibs for a certain new little baby boy in Napa.  Oh and I also want to make my sister a quick scarf to add to her birthday booty.  And then…

Then I can sew for me!  I can’t wait to get back to my grey double-knit dress that has been cut up for two weeks now and staring at me accusingly from my dining room, I mean, sewing table. 

Some thoughts on my sewing: Although I will do a 2010 recap sometime next week and a 2011 goals post in the beginning of January, I was thinking this week about how far I’ve come in my sewing.  I no longer have problems reading pattern directions.  I haven’t called my sewing teacher, Thea, in months.  I don’t pester Karen and Carolyn with questions that much anymore.  I still sew very slowly, but my skill is growing by leaps and bounds.  And my finished products are looking more and more professional with each new project.  Besides singing, sewing, has been my longest obsession ever.  I don’t see it waning any time soon either. 

I’m going to imitate Myrna now as imitation is a form of flattery…

Grateful:  For having such a smart, handsome, playful and affectionate son in my life.  He brings a smile to my face and heart every time I think of him.  And for sewing.  I love having the sewing skills to make clothes for my family.   Everything I make for them is made with love and I think it shows.

3 responses to “Still here, but…

  1. Congrats on your accomplishments and improving your skills. Glad to see that you are on the mend. Happy Holidays!

  2. That’s great that you are seeing so much improvement in your sewing! It really is an engaging hobby that I know I won’t become tired of either. I am so busy with work right now but am looking forward to my sew-cation starting this Friday. I did make a dress that I’m wearing today, and I have a few other dresses which are nearing completion.

  3. I really think that your work is quite professional. Looks great inside and out, and after my second try at a good fitting sheath dress, I think yours look great.

Leave a Reply

