Goodbye 2010

Ah 2010, you went by so quickly.  Is it just my age or having a child that makes time run past me without looking back?  Man, it was just two weeks ago that it was 2009 and now it’s two more days until 2011.  How did that happen???

Anyhoo, here’s a recap of what I was able to accomplish the year that happened in the blink of an eye. 

SEWING – Garments

  • 2 kids knit pj’s
  • 1 boy flannel pj
  • 1 girl flannel nightgown
  • 1 baby sleepsack
  • 1 turtleneck
  • 3.5 Butterick 5147 sheath dresses (my 2nd TNT)*
  • 1 Fall coat
  • 1 shirred skirt
  • 3 Simplicity 2452 pencil skirts (my first TNT)
  • 1 Burda skirt
  • 1 Burda dress
  • 1 shirred bodice girl’s dress
  • 1 drape neck knit top
  • 1 wrap dress
  • 1 boy’s camp shirt
  • 1 border print knit dress from quasi-TNT S3678
  • 1 girl’s dress
  • 1 Burda tweed skirt

TOTAL: 23.5

* The .5 refers to the tweed version which was almost completed until I figured out I had gained too much weight to wear it.  It now lays crumpled on my table taunting me with its svelte, plummish, crumpled tweediness.

SEWING – Accessories

  • 1 woven infinity scarf (not yet blogged)
  • 8 totebags (1 for me, the rest were Xmas gifts)
  • 1 ruffle scarf
  • 1 silk hemmed scarf
  • 21 bibs (4 were sold**, the rest gifts)

TOTAL: 32

** The bibs sold is part of the super secret surprise which will be revealed in 2011.  :)

KNITTING

  • 1 kid’s scarf
  • 2 kid’s hats
  • 1 boy’s sweater vest

TOTAL: 4

UFO’s

  • The Knip Mode skirt that would not drape/pleat correctly and made me look 20 lbs heavier.  I was attracted to its architectural qualities with nary a thought as to how it would look on a middle-aged body.  *sigh*  I love you Knip Mode skirt but you would look good only on the circa 1996-1997 Elizabeth.  RIP Knip Mode skirt.
  • The almost 4th version of the B5147 sheath dress in the most beautiful shade of plum tweed you ever saw.  But alas, I discovered too late that I had gained weight and set it aside for when I lost said weight or when Armageddon came, whichever came first (probably Armageddon at the rate I’m eating and drinking).
  • The Simplicity 2337 ponte knit dress which I set aside in favor of actually finishing my Xmas sewing on time.  It waits patiently for me on my sewing table (aka the dining room table) to come back to it as soon as I am able.  I. can’t. wait.

2010 HIGHLIGHTS

In no particular order, the highlights of this year were plentiful and varied.

My son Jack entered his wonderful 3’s and I saw him blossom as he discovered and interacted more with the world.  His new-found autonomy was a little challenging, but amazing to watch.  I can’t believe I was left in charge of someone’s life, but I hope I’m doing an ok job of it, because it is just jaw-dropping how much his own person Jack is already.  It doesn’t hurt that he loves when I sew for him either.  ;)   He wore his Xmas jammies 3 days in a row!

Photography by Jennifer Weisbord - 212.267.4828

 

It will come as no surprise to you, I’m sure, that my favorite sewn item is my purple Fall coat, Simplicity 2311.  I wear it on all but the coldest of days.  Not to rub it in Carolyn’s face, but I live only one block from my office, so my commute is negligible.  I almost don’t feel the cold before I am already inside my office building.  Sorry Carolyn!  ;)  

One of my greatest pleasures, besides the actual act of sewing, is talking about sewing with my far-flung friends around the world who share this same passion/obsession.  I organized a New York City shopping day in August with Robin and was blown away by the response and attendance that day.  The fact that I have met fellow sewists from London, Hong Kong, Philly, Chicago, etc. just amazes me. 

At Elliott Berman (image stolen from Robin's blog, yarncrawl.com)

Let’s not forget the PR Philly weekend that Karen put together in May.  So amazing to meet all those sewists in one place and reconnect with others.  We saw some incredible garments at the museum, showed off some beautifully made garments, and Kenneth King was a real show stopper.  Karen put together a fantastic event.  Kudos!  Oh and let’s not forget that I had 1.5 days of kid-free, sewing-inspired time alone with at least 50 other sewists.  ;)  

Kenneth King at PR Philly Weekend May 2010

 

And last, but not least, I adopted a Singer Featherweight machine.  I haven’t sewn much with her yet, just a totebag, but 2011 promises to be the year of the Featherweight.  Just you wait!

My beloved Singer Featherweight

 

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have some major housecleaning to do before 2011 bustles in. 

Happy new year my fellow sewists!

17 responses to “Goodbye 2010

  1. A very happy New Year to you too, Elizabeth!

  2. Congratulations on a very productive and succesful sewing year! I love that wonderful picture of you and Jack – what a very handsome young man he is. It was such a pleasure and privilege to meet up with you in 2010. Here’s wishing you a very happy 2011.

  3. Oh my! Congratulations to some unfathomable exponential are in order! All that sewing, plus working, plus raising up an adorable little one. And Scrabble… :-)

    I took a couple of classes from Kenneth King when he lived in the SF Bay area–he’s so fabulous. Fun, inspiring, great teacher, and funny, too.

    I don’t really go for resolutions any more, but one of my goals must be to get back to sewing in 2011. I could do quite a bit if I dedicated even half the time I spend reading my favorite blogs. :-)

    Happy New Year!

  4. Happy New Year to you! That picture of you and Jack is simply beautiful. And your sewing productivity (as a single mom, no less)? Awesome.

  5. You had an excellent year – can’t wait to see what you get up to in 2011!

  6. Happy New Year to you! I don’t know how you manage to find the time to get everything done, but I really enjoy seeing your progress. Thanks for sharing!

  7. Wow, your sewing & knitting productivity is incredible. Do you ever sleep??? And that picture of you and Jack is just precious. Happy New Year!!!

  8. I have enjoyed discovering your blog this year! I look forward to what you will be doing in 2011!!

  9. What a great year and hope the next one is even better! Love the picture of you and your son.

  10. Wow! What a great post and an inspiring project list. I inherited a Singer Featherweight this year and can’t sing their praises enough!! Once you sew on her, you’ll love her more than ever. :)

    Your purple fall coat is truly sensational! I am aubergine with evny ;)

  11. Aubergine with envy, I should say (brain working faster than fingers…)

  12. You son is just as precious as you are-same eyes, same nose, same mouth. You have done an incredible job and have made tremendous progress in such a short time as a sewist(???) Happy New Year to you and yours!

  13. Happy New Year to you too! You’ve learned so much this year, congrats on all of your sewing accomplishments. Best wishes for a fabulous 2011!

  14. Happy New Year, Elizabeth! Great portrait of you and Jack!

  15. You had quite the year! It’s been fun watching your skills develop. Thank you for sharing your journey. That is a beautiful photo of you and your son.

  16. Happy new year! I love the pic of you and your adorable son! Thanks for the comments. I didn’t realize that you lived in Chicago. I would love to organize a Chicago fabric trip but honestly there is not many shops to visit…unfortunately! We would end up eating which is a favorite Chicago passtime!! I am trying to get to NY this spring or summer. Have familiy in NYC and CT. Love to meet you!

  17. What a beautiful photo of you and Jack! Just gorgeous. Happy New Year :)

Leave a Reply

