Stash 101

As promised, here are some pics of my fabric stash.  Not all of it mind you, but some.   The first pic is of some black stretch cotton, Kokka gauzy cotton and black t shirting.  Apologies for the poor picture of black fabrics.black-stretch-cotton-kokka-black-tshirt

I bought the Kokka fabric at Purl Patchwork in Soho last week.  The black fabrics were bought from Kashi at Metro Textile back in August or September 2008 I think.  I bought them for the Stitch & Bitch University sewing class I took at Sew Fast Sew Easy.  I reviewed the class here.   I made an elasticized straight skirt out of the black stretch cotton and nothing out of the t-shirt fabric.  Why you ask?  Well, the t-shirt only had 2 way stretch, and the t-shirt pattern from the class required 4-way stretch.  I don’t think they specified that though in the syllabus.  Anyway, not sure what I’m going to do with the t-shirt material at this point.  I think I have one yard left of the stretch cotton.  The Kokka print is by far the most expensive fabric I’ve bought to date, $20/yd.  I only bought one yard.  I am hoping to make a sleeveless or cap sleeved blouse with it using my new Burda WOF subscription (I have received the Feb and Mar 2009 issues already).  Any suggestions?  Here’s a close up of the fabric.  It looks like the flowers are going in both directions vertically.  Am I right?kokka-gauzy-fabric

The second set of fabrics are a creme wool and taupe bemberg lining; bought from Kashi again with the intention of making a skirt.  This was from the NY PR meet up last fall.  I don’t have a pattern in mind yet, but have several skirt patterns in my stash already.creme-wool-and-beige-bemberg

The third set was also bought from Kashi at the NY PR meet up are a black cotton lace and a deep red silk charmeuse.  I intend to make a skirt with this combo as well.  Should I use the charmeuse as underlining?  or just as lining?  So many questions…  Again, no pattern yet in mind, but it will probably be simple as the main design element will be the fabrics themselves.  lace-and-charmeuse

Next up in the fabric stash show and tell series, my knit collection and a few more wovens!

Leave a Reply

