New York City Sewing & Fabric Shopping Meetup Group!

I don’t think I mentioned this before, but I became a member of the New York City Sewing and Fabric Shopping Meetup group sometime last fall.  I haven’t been able to make any previous meetings, but I went to my first meetup yesterday and had a blast.  A special thanks to my best friend Cayce for babysitting Jack so I could do so.  Wendy of West 38th hosts the group and I love her blog.  She makes the most beautiful clothes for her nieces and nephew as well as herself.  She was wearing the most fabulous skirt with what looked like pintucks, but were actually constructed using twin needles (if I heard her correctly).  So cool. 

We went to a bunch of fabric stores that are open on Sundays (not many of them are) and shopped.  I bought 3 yds of some gauzy cotton with a mod brown and tan circles pattern on white with some flocking — very cute and for only $7/yd.  We also went to M&J Trimming too, but I didn’t need anything there really.  Then Mica from Sewnista in the Making and I took off and visited my local store, P&S Fabrics, for notions for me and some basic fabric for her.  I thought I would be the only person who would bother to trek down there, but apparently I’m not!   I met some really great people, all in various stages of their sewing careers, beginners to experts.  We shared tips, new techniques, places to shop and I found out about the classes at FIT.  Apparently, being a NY resident gives me a significant discount and the classes are supposed to be awesome.  I might have to investigate that. 

The notions I bought were for my spring/summer blouse project I’m working on for the sew along so I could whip up the muslin.  I forgot that P&S closes Friday afternoons for the Jewish Sabbath, so I walked there for nothing on Friday night after work.  😦  The single fold bias tape I bought confuses me.  It says it’s single fold and yet there are two folds.  How does that work???  I will post a picture of my fun new fabric later tonight.  I didn’t have time to do so yesterday, but that’s a tale for another post…

2 responses to “New York City Sewing & Fabric Shopping Meetup Group!

  1. Arielle, thank you so much for these links! I’m printing them out right now. E

Leave a Reply

