Bummer!

Remember back in mid-March Lucy at My Birdhouse alerted us to a sale at http://www.quiltartsonline.com/index.html?  I did my civic duty and I bought some pretty Japanese prints right away, 2 yds each.  Then I waited and waited for my package.   Sadly, I just received an email from Quiltartsonline.com the other day informing me that they were going out of business due to the economy and that orders placed after March 17th would not be filled.   I placed mine on March 18th. 

I am so disappointed, but more importantly, how awful it is to lose a fabric store like that.  Carolyn of Diary of a Sewing Fanatic talks frequently about “stimulating the economy” of online and brick-and-mortar fabric stores.  And recently, a knitting store that was convenient to my workplace shut its doors because of the economy too. 

It’s a dilemma though.  We need to save money, but will the stores still be there if everyone saves their money?  I’ve noticed a lot more sales notices from a lot of online fabric stores in my email box lately too, another sign of the times.  Haven’t you?  Desperate times call for desperate measures.

So my question to you all is:  Are you going to still support our fabric stores?  Or are you in self-preservation mode?  And please note that I don’t mean anything negative about being in self-preservation mode.   If some of us are hurting financially or anticipate a job loss, it not only smart, but prudent to save wherever you can.

One response to “Bummer!

  1. Interesting point. Blind consumerism and anti-savings probably helped us to get into this mess, but out of all the purchases you can make, you could do a whole lot worse than one that satisfies the need for being creative, the need for a sense of accomplishment, a certain sense of self-sufficiency (gee, I can make my own clothes!). I’d say that’s a purchase with lots of value.

Leave a Reply

