Pictures of projects past

As promised in my Backstory post, here are pictures of my past finshed objects (FOs) and the quilt my Mom made for little Jack.  I forgot to take one picture though, but I’m sure you’ve all seen pillows before.  LOL.

First up is the quilt my Mom made in celebration of Jack’s birth.  I asked for blues and looked through various quilting sites for a pattern.  Of course I picked a really difficult one as I have absolutely no knowledge of quilting and how hard it is to do pointy piecework; now I know.  I think it’s really beautiful and Jack still asks for it to be laid down on the floor for him to play on like when he was an infant.  He has a memory like an elephant.quilt-1

Next up on the “slideshow”  are my own FOs.  So first is a picture of my now extremely dirty totebag that I made at the Purl sewing class.  I made longer straps than the pattern called for, much to my regret.  I should have left well enough alone.  😉  I chose the fabrics from Purl and love the combo for the outside/lining if I do say so myself.  Construction details included fusible interfacing for the straps and the snap area, a snap, and an interior pocket.  I also completed a zipped pencil bag, but forgot to take a picture of that.

Tote Bag Exterior

Tote Bag Exterior

Lining w/ interior pocket
Lining w/ interior pocket
Detail of snap and interior pocket

Detail of snap and interior pocket

Now we have FOs from my class at Sew Fast Sew Easy.  First on the docket is the skirt.  Construction details are stretch woven from Kashi at Metro Textile, elasticized waist, handsewn hem with hemtape,  and skirt vent fused.   Here are some pics:black-skirt

Elasticized waist interior detail

Elasticized waist interior detail

Skirt hem handsewn with hemtape

Skirt hem handsewn with hemtape

Next up is the tshirt I made in the same class.  Please excuse the mysterious stain on the front; I have no idea what that is and it won’t come out in the wash.  The collar and seams were serged, but a sewing machine was used to hem the sleeves and hem.   Not sure why since a straight sewing stitch has no give, but it’s still a great shirt to sleep in. tshirt-1

tshirt-2

As I mentioned earlier, I forgot to take a picture of the home dec pillow which has a most excellent invisible zipper installation.  We also completed a small tote bag, but I gave it to a friend of mine, Nikki, so I don’t have any pictures of it to show you all.  Maybe Nikki (hint hint if you’re reading this) will supply the picture in the near future.  Well, that’s it for today’s show and tell. 

In sewing machine news today, I am considering buying a new sewing machine.  Any suggestions?  I am interested in a machine that is great for garment sewing.  I’m not really interested in machine embroidery at this time, so that kind of functionality is not needed.  I want a machine I can grow into, but isn’t too much for my beginner level.  Most especially, I want a machine that allows me to just sit down and sew without any troubleshooting for hours on end each and every time I use it.  The only caveat is I don’t want to spend thousands of dollars.  Is that asking too much???

4 responses to “Pictures of projects past

  1. No one can tell you what machine YOU need. I would recommend reading the machine reviews at PatternReview, and visiting dealers of the various machines with fabric samples in hand to test drive. I thought I wanted a Bernina or Viking and ended up with a Babylock, go figure. Mostly ’cause I got a fabulous financial deal on the Babylock – it’s a Decorator’s Choice and I love it, but I only paid $800 and it’s now apparently well over $1200.
    Another thought – find a dealer who sells reconditioned used machines – make REALLY sure to test drive them thoroughly – as you can often get a really good deal on a terrific machine that someone traded in for a more expensive model.
    Good luck!

  2. I could spend a lifetime reading all the reviews of every kind of make and model. LOL! I have definitely been researching a lot the last few days. I’m going to the first dealer this weekend. We’ll see what happens…

  3. I’m thinking of sewing a stretch woven and was wondering what kind of needle/stitch specs they had you use on the skirt.

    I also read somewhere that you need to use low temp fusible interfacing (or sew in, I guess) so as to not kill the lycra.

    Any thoughts?

  4. Hi Arielle, I haven’t had a chance to look up what I used yet. I promise to do so tonight!

Leave a Reply

