To gauge or not to gauge…

I bet you thought I was going to silently slink away and never mention the Whisper Cardigan from Interweave Knits again, didn’t you?  Well, truth be told, I almost gave it up after ripping it 4 or 5 times, but I really want one.  And since sweaters don’t knit themselves, I guess I have to knit it! 

So yesterday I did some research on Ravelry to see if others were working on this pattern and if any of them had had any problems.  Well it turns out, a lot of them did!  Oh and can you believe there are 441 Ravelers working on this pattern right now?  Wow!  3 people are using the same yarn as me, albeit in different colors.  And all three had to go down in needle size to get gauge.  Aha!  I knew it!

I did a gauge swatch (again!) last night in the smaller needles (US 5) and reached a gauge of 6.75 stitches per inch.  The pattern calls for 6 stitches per inch.  So I think the difference is negligible enough to just forge on ahead and cast on for the medium size.   Here’s a picture of the bland glory that is my gauge swatch!

Gauge Swatch with US 5 needles

Gauge Swatch with US 5 needles

Wish me luck!

2 responses to “To gauge or not to gauge…

  1. Quick question. How would you launder this when it’s done?

  2. dry clean only my friend! or hand wash and air dry.

Leave a Reply

