Overwhelmed

Apologies for the lack of posting here, but I have been on the hunt…. for a new sewing machine.  You see, I was under the impression that it would be easy and fast to buy a new machine.  Oh how naive I am.  *sigh*  I have been furiously researching on PatternReview, scouring the internet, and asking fellow bloggists (thank you Carolyn, Wendy and LindsayT!).

And now I am going to ask you!!!

I have narrowed down my prospective list to the following machines:

Janome 625E

Janome 625E

or

Kenmore 16231

Kenmore 16231

or

Bernette 82E

Bernette 82E

or

Bernette 66

Bernette 66

or

Bernina Activa 230

Bernina Activa 230

What do you think?  I know they are all very different and the prices are not all comparable.  My main sewing goals are garments, with maybe some crafting/home dec thrown in occasionally.  And I definitely want a 1-step buttonhole function. 

Ok let the debate begin!

4 responses to “Overwhelmed

  1. I would go for the Bernina Activa 230. I got my first Bernina machine in 1981, it still sews beautifully and I kept it, when I inherited some money from my parents and bought a new Bernina, this time an Artista. With the rest of the inheritance I bought each of my daughters an Activa, their first sewing machines. I did a lot of research and talked it over with my Bernina dealer I’ve known for near on 20 years who sells other brands of machines ( Vikings, Pfaffs and Singers). In the end the Activa was what we went for. DDs are both very happy with the machines, are using them a great deal and have so far not come across anything they didn’t like. They both had the chance to try them out and I think that is extremely important. It has to “feel” right when you sit down in front of it and put foot to pedal. I wish all the very best of luck with your shopping.

  2. Have you actually tried sewing on any of them? If so, which one(s) felt right? By name alone, I go for the Janome or the Bernina, though.

  3. Bernina Activa 230. I sewed several days last year on my daughter’s Activa 240 and I loved it. ESPECIALLY that buttonhole! I’d almost give up my full-sized Bernina 1090 if I could have that memorized-size buttonhole maker!!

    But yes, you should take your own fabrics and your own thread and try the ones you are interested in!

    Elaine

  4. I’m going this weekend to try some out. The sucky thing is that there are no dealers in NYC at all. Now I have to trek out to NJ or Queens. Big schlep!

Leave a Reply

