My dog ate my homework

That’s my story and I’m sticking with it.  I haven’t uploaded the pictures for my Burberry Raincoat Tell All post yet, so you’re just gonna have to wait.  I’m just sayin’.

In the meantime, you want to hear about my latest sewing travails?  Without any pictures?  Well maybe I’ll just throw in one to keep you all from flinging yourselves off the nearest precipice.  And Tanya, if you’re reading this, I promise to not make this post too wordy.  😉

So, in order to jumpstart my mojo, I cut out another Simplicity 3678, same view though as I wanted another summer dress.  This time, I made some fitting alterations.  I cut out a size 14 for the back bodice and back midriff band and a size 12 for everything else.  I eliminated the gathers on the back skirt, so therefore had to remove some of the width there. 

I am making it up in this fabric (click to “enbiggen”)…

turquoise and brown knit

turquoise and brown knit

Since I have sewn this dress two times before already (in the icky dots fabric and in the yummy purple rain fabric), I thought I could whip it out in one evening.  But noooooooo!  There were several time sinks in last night’s attempt to whip out a dress.  The firstwas threading my serger with four cones of brown thread.  I had decided to use a four thread stitch instead of the three thread one and couldn’t get it to thread properly.  It took me an hour and several attempts before it worked passably and then I had to fiddle a whole bunch with the tension.  The second time sink was determining which stitch to use for this knit on my sewing machine.  The stretch stitch puckered on this knit fabric something fierce.  I tried all stitch length and width permutations to no avail.  Then I auditioned the zig zag stitches and finally found one that worked on this fabric without puckers with a 1.5 measurement for both stitch length and width. 

Beginner sewist thoughts:  These are just some of the things that can put off a beginning sewist like me.  There are so many steps to just set up your sewing time.  If I hadn’t already “tasted” what it’s like to wear something I’ve made, I’m not sure I would persevere through this beginner phase.  The learning curve is steep and patience seems to be in great demand for this little hobby of mine.  But when I get in the zone, I guess I just keep plugging away at it.  And the payoff is pretty nice too.

By then it was almost 10pm.  But I was determined!  I knew I wasn’t going to finish the dress last night, but I wanted to make good headway into it.  I was able to sew most of the bodice together.  I have yet to pleat the front bodice and attach the front bodice midriff, but after that, it’s just the skirt and sleeves and that puppy is done!  Or at least it will be tonight.  I only made one mistake last night in my late night sewing extravaganza, and that was to leave the basting stitch length on when I topstitched the facing to the neckline.  I’ve decided to leave it that way as I don’t think it’s worth doing over at this point.  If you think I am cutting a corner I shouldn’t, please let me know.  I really don’t want to make a wadder, but I don’t think this is something major, but if I’m wrong, please show me the light.

Oops, I forgot to mention that I hacked off about a 1/2 inch on the back skirt sides just by eyeballing with my rotary cutter.  I guess we’ll find out real soon if that worked or not.  I hope it works because I really want to wear it to work tomorrow.  I bought two cardigans to wear with it, one brown and one cream.  We’ll see which one looks nicer with it.  I will try to get a picture up tomorrow with the finished result.

Until then, happy sewing!

2 responses to “My dog ate my homework

  1. There ain’t nothin’ wrong with wordy! :o)

  2. Thanks for blogging on the frustrations! As a beginner, I am still waiting to encounter a garment that I can completely finish in one day…*fingers crossed*…hopefully soon! 🙂

Leave a Reply

