Unveiling

Don’t be mad at me for teasing you guys last night.  I was deep in the throes of getting my new iPhone in working order and am exhausted this morning.  It took so long to set up and I didn’t even get my contacts loaded yet.  But enough about me, let’s talk about my Burda skirt.  🙂   I just posted this review on PatternReview

Pattern Description:  This pencil skirt is anything but stiff, prim and proper! The deep, diagonal, unpressed pleat in front is both
a special feature and the waist fastening.

Pattern Sizing: 38-46  ETA: I made the size 40 and it fit perfectly.
 

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, yes, yes!!! Especially since I used a similar fabric.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Shockingly, yes! I am a newbie to sewing and pattern reading challenged, and even I could understand these directions!

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern?  I loved the pleat drape, the ingenious way of using the pleat as a closure and I especially loved that I didn’t have to insert a zipper.

Fabric Used: A grey wool/lycra suiting from the Paron’s 50% table.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made:  I changed the pleat closure from a button fastening to a suit closure fastening. This worked and I like the clean look of it, but it did make the waist a tidge smaller to put on. So if you have ease issues it might make it difficult to get on and off.

I also added a full lining thanks to advice from Karen. I attached the lining to the inner waistbands for front and back skirt panels and then stitched the side seams in one go from the fashion fabric through the waist bands and then the lining. Once both side seams were complete, I stitched in the ditch to attach the front waistband to the back waistband. My ditch stitching isn’t perfect, but it’s pretty good and I didn’t want to spend a lot of time hand sewing as I was anxious to wear this skirt right away. Some people in other sewing blogs had mentioned concerns over too much bulk at the seam, but I didn’t find that to be the case at all and I like how the lined skirt feels on. It also reduced wrinkling!

This skirt has a pegged skirt hem which makes hemming a bit difficult, especially with the drape pleat. To counteract this problem I opened that particular sideseam up about 2 inches and restitched it at an angle opposite to the peg shape. That way, when you fold the hem allowance up, you can hem flat against the skirt instead of making a bubble edge. Does that make sense?

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others?  I will definitely sew it again for next summer, possibly in a linen.

Conclusion:  I love this skirt. As a beginning sewist, this super easy project was a huge confidence builder. The end result looked pretty professional. I wore it to work the next day and everyone was impressed.  Here are the pics!

 

full lining

Hem

Hem

  

alternative drape closure

as worn at work

Now I just have to finish the trench coat.  Happy sewing! 

 

10 responses to “Unveiling

  1. Love the bathroom at work shot! 🙂 It looks so good on you and I’m glad that you got the lining to work for you! You saw my update so I’m still working on mine…soon, very soon!

  2. You look fantastic!!!

  3. Excellent job! Looks totally fab.

  4. Great looking skirt!

  5. Looks awesome!!!

  6. Your skirt looks fabulous! I would never have known that you are a beginner (like me). Great job!

  7. Elizabeth, the skirt is lovely. It looks great on you!

  8. Beautiful. This one is definitely on my list.

  9. Nice job! Looks great on you!

  10. It’s beautiful! I do wish I had taken the time to line mine, but I was concerned about extra bulk in that pleat area. Glad to learn that isn’t the case as I plan on sewing another in basic black.

Leave a Reply

