Is there a cure for stupidity?

I hope so.  Can you tell me what wrong with these pictures?

Yep, that’s right.  Yours truly, idiot extraordinaire, put the ties of the dress on the side seams, not at the front edges of the bodice.  How am I supposed to wrap this wrap dress?   I don’t know because it ain’t gonna wrap without those ties in the right place. 

I made great progress last night and thought I only had to attach the sleeves and hem the dress tonight.  But when I tried on the dress last night I was at a complete loss as to how to wrap the dress.  It took me 10 minutes and a lot of staring at the instructions before I finally saw my glaring error.  DOH!!!

I’m sure I can fix this hot mess too, but I was too tired to do it last night.  I hope you’ll all still be my friends after this comedy of errors.  😉  

On the good news front, I was able to patch my cutting error and solve the facing problem.  Instead of removing the facing, I just topstitched it down.  And I used fusible knit interfacing to patch the cut.  Here’s a blurry picture of the patch and topstitching for your viewing headache.

Anyway, tonight is another night.  Let’s see what miracles I can pull out of my butt tonight.

Happy idiot-free sewing to you all.

13 responses to “Is there a cure for stupidity?

  1. Ohh Elizabeth, I sympathise!! Just when you thought you were nearing the end too. The fabric is totally gorgeous and it’s going to look great on you.

  2. With that dark print, nobody is ever going to notice any mistakes! And if they are looking that close, they deserve to see something! We have all made stupid mistakes. I’ve been sewing fro 30+ years and I still make them! It’s a cute dress – wear it with pride that you used it as a learning experience!

  3. Top stitching is my friend! It solves so many problems. This is how we all learn – from every garment I make I learn something new. One of my other mottoes: A garment is never done unless it has had at least one session with the seam ripper and my blood on it (usually from pricked fingers.)

  4. Oh, I am sending you lots of positive vibes! Stay strong. At least you still have your sense of humour…

  5. Wait — I made a wrap dress. You can put velcro tabs where you want the dress to close (on both the side that ends up inside and the side that ends up outside, if that makes sense ). Then use the ties over that, mainly for show.

    I’m sure it will look great either way!

  6. I was going to suggest you topstitch the facing down. I am sure it will look beautiful on you.

    Love, Mom

  7. I can’t believe that you made the v-shaped cut, I did the same thing when I made this dress! I was trimming the seams with pinking shears and made a big v-shaped clip right by the hip/waist area! Argh. Tried to fix it with a backing and top-stitching, but it’s in the donation pile – as the bodice is also too short. Oh, well, luckily it was old fabric that I didn’t like any more! I will try this again, though. A tip – try your garments on as you go, almost after each step, as it will help with fit and to figure out, early on, if you’ve made a mistake!

  8. I am only laughing as I made a similar blunder while sewing last night. I stopped and looked at what I had done and thought to myself, “how could I be so stupid”! It’s too easy to do sometimes!

  9. I’ve been through that and just trucked through it… it’s a good learning experience. 🙂 The dress looks great so far! You can do it!

  10. Please pardon my fit of giggling, but can totally relate… ask me how I know 🙂

  11. Why certainly, I have done similar things.

  12. See, I didn’t mean to laugh either when you told me. Most all of us have made these same – or worse – dumbass mistakes. Beginners don’t make dumbass mistakes, we ALL do. You just can’t let yourself be paralyzed by them – there’s a way out of almost everything, and it ain’t cheating if it works.

  13. No, there doesn’t appear to be a cure for stupidity, but when I find it I’ll let you know. 😉 At least fixing the ties will be easy enough to do. I’m excited to see what this dress looks like on you when you finish it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

