Happy Mother’s Day!

So as I alluded in an earlier post, last weekend I spent an evening sewing my Mom a Mother’s Day present.  I saw Dana’s Summer Scarf Tutorial and thought it would be great for my Mom.  I used this cotton voile remnant I bought at Metro Textile a couple of months ago.  This floral was perfect for my mother.  She loves that peachy color and has a lot of items in her wardrobe that would match with this color scheme.

floral cotton voile

I did a couple of things differently than the tutorial.  I used my new boyfriend, the gathering foot, instead of elastic thread.  And I used french seams to join my pieces since the cotton voile was so delicate (remember, I had to fix Katie’s dress which had a cotton voile bodice.)  Oh and this is the first time I used french seams!!!  Pretty cool technique.

If I were to make this again as a gift and I might because it’s pretty quick to do (although the majority of the project is probably spent on the hem since I didn’t serge finish it), I would make it shorter than the 170 inches long Dana suggests, but that’s only because I used my gathering foot instead of elastic thread.  I think the elastic thread made her scarf shorter.  Or I would just try the elastic thread; it looks like it would be bouncy.  My only worry with the elastic thread was that it looks a little casual which, depending on your fabric, could be just the ticket.  So really, your fabric will tell you how it wants to be made up. 

Here are some construction photos:

narrow hem

gathering

french seam join

pile o'scarf

dangling scarf

And of course, the scarf in action on my Mom!

Mom!

Happy Mother’s Day to all the mothers out there.  🙂

9 responses to “Happy Mother’s Day!

  1. Thanks, Sweetie. I love it. Taking it to Palm Desert tomorrow.

    Love, Mom

  2. Beautiful scarf and a beautiful Mom.

  3. totally LOVE that! And, I see where you get that gorgeous hair!

    See you on Friday!

  4. That’s lovely. I like long scarves, but don’t think I’ve seen the slightly gathered look much–I really like it. Bookmarked as inspiration.

  5. your mom looks sensational in the scarf and love her comment 🙂 Hooray for sewing!!!

  6. Ooooh! I think it looks fabulous. 🙂 Happy Mother’s Day!

  7. Ooo! I love it! I hope my new/old Bernina has a gathering foot. It came with a lot of attachments so I may be in luck. You are going to need to change the name of the blog–it’s been awhile since you were a beginner! Your work is just great!

  8. How perfect! Love the print and it’s perfect for your mom!

  9. Pingback: When a Sewing Machine Meets Packrat Tendencies | Sisters Are Making It For Themselves

Leave a Reply

