Birthday Dress Pattern Review

Since Haley had her birthday this weekend, received her presents, and opened them.  I can  now show you pictures of the finished dress.  However, I forgot to take interior construction pictures before I wrapped and sent it off, so my apologies for the dearth of those photos.

By all accounts, Haley loves her dress and she looks so pretty in pink.

Construction notes:  I used no pattern for this dress.  With the help of my teacher Thea and some measurements of a RTW dress that Haley already owned, we drafted a pattern for this dress.  The bodice of the RTW wear dress was 18 inches in circumference and the straps were 2 inches in from the sides.  Since elastic thread for shirring cuts the width down by 1/2 I started with 2 pieces of the floral fabric (front and back) 19 inches wide each (1 inch added for SA’s).  I pressed the top of the bodice under twice and used the elastic on top of the hem to secure and start the shirring at the same time.  I shirred for about 7-8 times around until it looked right in length from top to bottom.  I seamed and gathered the solid pink band using my gathering foot, remember my new boyfriend?  In retrospect, I realized that I had forgotten to tighten my stitch tension, so the gathers are not as gathered, but I still like it.  It’s subtle.  Then I added the lace at the bottom.  I bought the lace in Philly when I was there for PR Weekend.  Doesn’t it just take this simple dress to a whole new level?  It’s definitely “one more louder.”  I must give full credit to Thea for turning the straps for me.  I have been very frustrated with my turner, but she seemed to have no problem whatsoever with it.  Hmmm…  I attached the straps and this dress was done!  Very simple.  I constructed the entire dress (minus attaching the straps) in one evening.  I can see a sweatshop in my near future making little girl dresses.  😉  

And here’s little Haley in her dress.  Isn’t she super duper cute?

In other sewing news, I finished my Burda dress and love it.  Lots to tell about that little adventure, but I must save it for another post.  Not sure if it’s work wearable though.  It might be a little too sexy momma for the office.  I’ll have to ask my sister’s opinion.

Happy sewing everyone!

10 responses to “Birthday Dress Pattern Review

  1. She’s a cute little thing! The dress turned out really nicely Elizabeth.

  2. Lovely dress for a very cute niece. Sewing for children is so rewarding.

  3. Adorable! Dress and little princess!

  4. Awwwwwwwwww! What a fantastic sundress 🙂

    Isn’t shirring so much fun? If it wasn’t for the annoyance of hand winding the elastic thread on the bobbin I’d do way more of it!

  5. Cute dress! I made a similar dress for my niece last year. I was taught an easier method for turning straps. It involves using a dowel for pressing the seams open before you turn. The turning isn’t that much easier, but the finished product looks a whole lot better. I think I’ll post my first tutorial!

  6. OK, totally adorable. Nice job on that dress and love the lace trim.

  7. So cute, what an adorable dress!

  8. Precious! It’s so cute on her! Great job, Elizabeth!

  9. Your niece is beautiful and the dress suits her. Another great job!

  10. Very cute indeed! Can’t wait to see your dress now too!

Leave a Reply

