The zebra print that never was

The next thing on my list to make was a skirt (using my TNT pattern, Simplicity 2452) using my newly purchased zebra print cotton pique from Elliott Berman Textiles.  Imagine my surprise when I pulled out said fabric and it wasn’t a zebra print, but was, in fact, a graphic plant print.  I think it’s bamboo leaves, but am not sure.  So here I was thinking I was being so on trend with a soon to be made zebra print skirt and it’s just a bamboo leaf print.  Oh well.  My memory ain’t what it used to be I guess.

At any rate, I love my new skirt!  Nothing much to report on the construction other than that I should have listened to my inner voice and underlined the cotton pique.  It’s a loose weave and quickly loses its shape.  Underlining would have helped with wrinkling as well.  Oh well, I still love the skirt and am wearing it to work.  It still took three days to make it though.  I don’t seem to be getting any faster here folks.  I am a little frustrated by that, but I am still managing to make wearable items.  So I guess I should just be thankful.  *big sigh* 

Oh one cool thing about this TNT skirt that I did differently with this iteration.  After I had finished the construction of both fashion fabric and lining, I tried it on.  And. It. Was. Too. Big!!!  I had to take in the side seams at the hips about 3/8 on both front and back for a total reduction of 1.5 inches.  I guess my workouts have been working.  *pats self on back*  The scale tells a different story (haven’t lost a pound), but at least my clothes are fitting differently.  I probably should change the facing as well, but I had already done all the work and wasn’t going to completely redo the whole skirt. 

But enough wordy stuff already.  Here’s the proof of the pudding (with Jack’s cousins as extra cute bits)…

Happy sewing everyone!

15 responses to “The zebra print that never was

  1. Great skirt and I love that print, zebra or not 🙂

  2. Love the skirt and congrats on the weight loss!

  3. Love the skirt! Looks great on you. It might not be zebra but it has that “look” to it despite it being bamboo.

  4. Love the skirt – and congrats on the workouts working! You do look more fit!

  5. Its a cute skirt and a great print, whatever it is! Well done on toning up!

  6. Great skirt!! That’s fantastic that you’re seeing results and your workouts are paying off, congrats!

  7. Love it! A graphic black and white print is always in style, so you’re on trend no matter what. Congratulations on the inches loss!

  8. Well, maybe it’s not zebra print, but it’s super summery looking! It looks awesome 🙂

  9. I just made a dress in pique without underlining it and completely agree with you! It stretches!

  10. Very cute skirt. Love the pattern. I think it’s stylish and will be on trend longer than if it were a zebra skirt.

  11. Congrats on your clothes fitting better! That’s the best motivation. 🙂 I like the skirt, zebra print or not. 🙂

  12. You are really working that TNT! It looks great, I love the bamboo (or whatever) print.

  13. fun post and photo! also thanks for the tip re underlining or lining a skirt, that it helps prevent stretching, and prob extends the life of a skirt quite a bit. interesting! 🙂

  14. Really lovely skirt Elizabeth. Well done on losing the inches, it’s worth doing the workouts!

  15. I think the better you get at sewing, the slower you actually get. Because you’ve realized it’s quality vs. quantity. You want things to be as perfect as possible, so you slow down—analyze rather than plunge, baste first rather than machine stitch and rip. So don’t be frustrated with your slow speed. Instead you should be patting yourself on the back!

    Love the skirt, BTW. I thought it was zebra too.

Leave a Reply

