Nothing is ever simple

I made my garment for Thea’s challenge!  It was not as simple to execute as it was to think of it.  ;0   But I am really happy with it and will wear it a lot this summer, I can already tell.  The most time was spent figuring out how wide to cut the rectangles for the front and back of the skirt.  It was hard for me to know how much fabric would hang around my thighs/legs after the shirring on the waist was done.  In the end I just guesstimated at 26 inches (my hips are 39 and shirring decreases the width by half), so that meant that my finished skirt circumference ended up being 52 inches.  And I loved the fullness of the skirt or the lack of it actually; the extra 13 inches do not add bulk to my figure, especially in this swishy knit fabric. 

The second time suck was testing the rolled hem stitch of my serger on my fabric.  It took F.O.R.E.V.E.R.  And then testing the shirring.  The actual construction of the skirt took only about an hour.  But all the prep increased that time by about 3.5 hours for a total of 4.5.  I guess the point of the challenge was about sewing creatively and not how fast you can churn something out, but I was still annoyed at how long it took and that I went to bed way past my already late bedtime.  *sigh*

But I have a new skirt to wear!  The only negative about this skirt is that the shirring is not a taut as I thought it would be. So one hard yank from a toddler running berserk my darling son asking for my attention and you will be able to London AND France.  *wink wink*

Anyhoo, without too much further ado, the reveal (for some reason I can’t take decent pictures of myself anymore.  Can’t figure it out)…

shirred waist with rolled hem edge

rolled hem courtesy of my serger

slightly blurry and unflattering picture of me wearing my skirt

Please let me know in the comments if any of you have finished your challenge sewing yet and I will set up the shutterfly page.

This weekend is the long July 4th weekend here in the states.  Jack and I have been invited to a friends house in the “country” (aka the suburbs).  I am very excited to have the distraction for him and me during a long weekend especially since my sister is out of town.  But this means I will probably get no sewing done this weekend because of it.  But I’m ok with that.  I am a mother first and sewist after that.  Not vice versa.  My friend even went so far as to mention she didn’t have a sewing machine!!!  So funny.

I hope you all have great weekends and that some of you get to sew!  Can’t wait to see what you’re all up to.

14 responses to “Nothing is ever simple

  1. Your skirt is cute! Isn’t shirring fun?? I ended up participating in your “challenge.” I made another shirred skirt in a chambray. I only had a 1/4 yd of 60 in. fabric, but I made it work. 🙂

  2. sanantoniosue

    I love that! Love the way the shirring makes the ways appear to get longer as they go down! I’ll have to take up shirring!

  3. Ah that skirt is beautiful Elizabeth! Enjoy your weekend…you will have plenty when you will be able to sew the time away…and Jack will really love being outdoors and hanging around!

  4. Cute! So is shirring hard? I’ve never done it, though I have the stuff to try…

  5. Hi Elizabeth!
    I too made a skirt. I used my TNT straight skirt pattern, adding a bit to the front (cut on a fold) and leaving the darts open. Used a bright cotton print, added inseam pockets and then a separate casing for an elastic waist. It’s bright and comfy and good for summer, I hope! I also lined mine with tricot (what cheap slips are usually made out of) as the cotton is a bit thin.

    I’m really happy with the way it turned out and if the weather warms up enough (I’m in Edmonton, Alberta Canada) I’ll get to wear it.
    Happy 4th of July!

  6. That fabric is awesome 🙂

    My hint to make the shirring a smidge more stable- when I’ve made little sundresses for the nieces like this, I took thin (1/2″) elastic, stretched it along the top, and did a zig zag over it. That gave the top of the shirring a bit more strength & stability.

  7. 98redballoons

    Supercute! I think the fabric you chose is perfect for this project.

  8. Your skirt turned out great, the fabric is gorgeous. I admire your patience mastering the rolled hem, I haven’t got there yet!

  9. What a beuatiful skirt!! Luv the colors. I just recently came into posession of a serger but haven’t tried it out yet! Do you have any tips you can share?? Hope you’re enjoying the Loooong weekend:)

  10. Great skirt! I love the print and the rolled hem is fabulous!

  11. Once you get a serger rolled hem going it is so brilliant. But it takes experimenting to get there. I love shirring! Your skirt came out very cute.

  12. The skirt is quite lovely and the shirring and rolled hem are the perfect finishing touches!

  13. You look terrific – what a beautiful, fresh, flattering, and beautifully matched outfit. Kudos to you.

  14. you’re funny! omg, I wish my husband could see I’m not the only one, lol…well I think you did a PERFECT job! I hope mine turns out half as good as yours did! ;o)

Leave a Reply

