News and a New Sew Along

First, let me tell you what I have been super excited about for a few days now.  I had been thinking about getting a coverstitch machine lately, but they’re crazy expensive and to be honest, I don’t know how much I would really use it.  Also, everyone I have talked to about it has said that you can hem knits using a twin needle.  Even the owner of Sew Fast Sew Easy said that very same thing when I called in asking her about coverstitch machines.  So I guess I am going to table that idea for a while.

But over the last couple of weeks I have been searching Craigslist for sewing machines.  Again, originally for a coverstitch machine, but then I got it into my head that I wanted a Singer Featherweight machine.  They’re portable, they have a great reputation and you can find them used pretty easily.  I found one in the New York area, but they wanted about $275 for it if I remember correctly.  I pestered consulted with Cidell whom I know to love Featherweights.  She said I could definitely find one cheaper and to wait for it.  Cidell also suggested expanding my search to cities where other family members live to see if there were any there.  SHEER GENIUS!!! 

I found one right away where my parents live for just $125.  My mom (Thank you Mom!) checked it out, proclaimed it worthy and got it for me for just $100!!!  The tension was a little tight so good ole mom even took it in for a tune up.  I should have this lovely little machine in my hands in September when Mom and I meet up in the midwest for a family wedding.  I CAN’T WAIT!!!  Do you want to see my cute little Featherweight???  Here she is…

My Brand New Used Singer Featherweight

Isn’t she a beaut?!  She comes with a huge assortment of attachments including a ruffler and a buttonholer.  Mom wasn’t sure what the others were, so that will be fun to investigate when I have them in hot sweaty hands.  Could I possibly use these feet on my Viking machine?????  Does anyone know?  Remember, I have a wish list to fulfill.  She (the machine, not my mom) comes with the original manual and the original registration too.  Can you believe it???!!!  I seriously don’t know how I am going to wait almost two months for her.  *big sigh*

******************************************************************

Butterick 5147

In other sewing news, Carolyn emailed today with a fantastic suggestion, a Butterick 5147 Dress Sew Along!!!!!  How cool is that?  She said she had that pattern in her stash already and wanted to make it too.  I’ve already set up a flickr group for the sew along.  I’m so excited.  I would love for you to join us and to see all the beautiful dresses we make together.  Do you want to join us? 

Here’s how it will work:

That’s it.  How simple is that?  I’m cutting out my pattern tonight!  Hopefully I’ll have the muslin done by this weekend and see what changes I need to make.  Hopefully the changes won’t include the need to add 6 freaking inches to the side seams!!!

Join our Butterick 5147 Dress Sew Along!!!!  Do it!  🙂

16 responses to “News and a New Sew Along

  1. I would love to join the sew along…although I need to search to see if there is a butterick sale before it is too late!

  2. hooray for awesome moms!

    The Butterick 5147 pattern is interesting- side darts & french darts! Hmmmm. Are dress C and dress D totally different pattern pieces to accomodate the different skirt shapes?

  3. Great machine – I just came into possession of a Featherweight 221 as well! I’m unsure how to use it but am looking forward to trying to!!

  4. Well you know I’m in and I’m going to pull out a border print to make the a-line version! Come on and play along with us…we want Elizabeth to learn that fitting a dress is not a scary proposition so that she can make up some basics for work!

  5. I think I may join you ladies. This would be my first sewing project in over 20 years, kinda scary. Additionally, since i’m plus-size and tall, I’d also have to adjust the pattern….but maybe this sew-a-long will get me off the sidelines and back to sewing again…..

  6. Congrats on your new baby! I bet you are itching to get your hands on it.

    I may join on the sew along. Let’s see if time is on my side. Thanks for the encouragement!

  7. I AM SO HAPPY FOR YOU!!! See! People in NYC want too much for everything. Kind of makes me want to start looking for another one, lol. But, I don’t know that I can take the stress 🙂

  8. Jealous of your featherweight! But I did just get an amazing toy Singer circa 1952 at an auction yesterday. She is so sweet! And almost as expensive as the great price you got on the Featherweight.
    Sew along? I might….

  9. Cool new machine, how fun, I bet you wish you had it RIGHT NOW and didn’t have to wait!

    Good luck with your dress sew along! I have way too much on my to-sew list already but I like the idea of sewing along with a team 🙂

  10. Count me in for this dress sew along. I just signed up on yahoo and flickr now I am waiting for acceptance… I have my pattern and fabric ready to go..

  11. So lucky on that Featherweight! Everyone in my area seems to have already checked out the ebay prices – nothing even close to what you paid! Good deal for you!

  12. Darn it you are a trouble maker! I saw a machine that looked like that yesterday for $50 at a SPCA Thrift Store. Now I have to go back and look again and it is all your fault! “GRIN”

  13. And that included the sewing table it was in to. Take that!

  14. Ok, I just bought the pattern on Ebay and I’m in! I think it will be helpful for me to have the deadline – that’s good. I think I will use a stretch woven from my stash for mine.

  15. Ooooh, that’s a nice looking machine. Sad to have to wait for it, but anticipating a nice thing happening is always fun.

  16. Congrats on your new addition and count me in the sew along… another great dress can’t hurt…lol

Leave a Reply

