Grrrr!

You see that?  That purple wool up there?  Yeah?  Well, I’m mad at it.

Why you ask?  Well, I spent a little over two hours last night pulling threads to find the grain.  I was doing the fringe method because the thread method kept breaking.  I mean the thread that I pulled kept breaking because the thread that makes up this wool fabric are very fuzzy and grab at each other.  They’re not slide-y and smooth making the pulling a thread method virtually impossible.  The self-same fuzziness makes the fringe method equally as difficult too.  About an hour into it I realized that I could cut off the fringe as I pulled to keep the fuzzy factor at a minimum.  That speeded things up, but it still took me two hours to find the straight of grain. 

Why does it matter?  Well, I am really excited about this coat and want it to be a successful garment.  If I sewed it off grain, it would twist and pull and then I’d never wear it.  So, pulled and cut, pulled and cut, and pulled and cut for two hours last night.  Needless to say, I never got to the actual cutting out of the pattern.  *big sigh*

But tonight is another night.

Wish me luck.

10 responses to “Grrrr!

  1. Well, the fabric looks beautiful indeed. I hope you’ll be able to get some drafting and cutting done tonight. And with all this effort, I am sure your coat must turn out to be gorgeous!

  2. Those 2 hours “will” be worth it I’m sure :)!
    Sure, it’s annoying at the time – but you’d have been more annoyed if as you said the coat warped afterwards & you never got to wear it at all 😦

  3. Anita M Cartolano

    I am now sitting here – doing exactly the same horrible thing! There must be a better way??????? I know, I know … there is not. Iam trying to do a little at a time so I don’t get to frustrated. The one big thing I am learning is that when you sew it is best to not be in a hurry! =)

  4. Wow! I’ve *never* done that – good for you! I love your focus on the right way of doing things…

  5. I have to second what Reethi said, I’ve *never* done it either. Maybe because I used to just sew knits, I never got in the habit.

  6. I never did that either! I just “look” at the grain and follow the thread lines. Is that wrong?

  7. Marie-Christine

    Pulling threads can only work with smooth fiber, like linen. I don’t think you could do it with cotton either.
    What you need to do is hang the fabric from both hands, and check that it hangs nicely, the fold is smooth. Let me also point out that pulling threads only works in perfect fabrics, the one where the warp and the weft are perfectly perpendicular. If you bought your fabric at Joanne’s for instance, your chances of having that happen would be about zero. But even if you paid a lot for it, chances are that these days you’d have some degree of distortion.

  8. How frustrating! Hope you have a better luck tonight!

  9. And once you find that elusive cross-grain, there’s still the squaring up…

  10. I may sew knits only for the rest of my life geez….

Leave a Reply

