Decompression

image from wikimedia.com

or intimidation?

I can’t tell which it is that I am experiencing right now.  It’s been a week since I finished my coat and I still haven’t started my next project.  Or any project for that matter. 

My first excuse was social engagements, but then the weekend came and I couldn’t get motivated to start anything.  Was I resting after a long project or was I just plain intimidated?  I think I am always most intimidated by a project right before starting it which leads to major procrastination on my part. 

But mama needs some fall/winter clothes and stat!  I really want to make more sheath dresses as I now know that I love wearing dresses and always have apparently.  My quandary with the sheath dress though is: do I make B5147 again since I’ve worked out the fitting issues?  Or do I start the TNT process all over again with a princess seam sheath dress which I suspect will be more flattering?  *sigh*

I also want to make some turtlenecks to wear underneath them.  And let’s not forget that work wardrobe staple, the pencil skirt. 

So, what do you find is the most intimidating part of the sewing process?  Just starting?  Certain difficult design details/skills like welt pockets?  Finishing it up so it doesn’t become a UFO?

Tell me!

16 responses to “Decompression

  1. I get bogged down in the details. I’m currently working on a UFO houndstooth coat that I cut out TWO YEARS ago. I’d decided that I was going to add a Thinsulate lining, bound buttonholes, piping and some inside pockets. I got totally overwhelmed by all of the new skills I had yet to acquire and put it aside until last week. Other than the Thinsulate lining, I’m scrapping all those little details. I’m trying not to let UFOs run my life! (and I DO need a new winter coat, like STAT.)

    After that gorgeous coat you made, I’d take on a “quick sew” project like a pencil skirt. Never overlook the loveliness of instant gratification!

    Have you seen the Burda tneck from September’s issue? Cidell said it’s a quickie, too. http://missceliespants.com/2010/10/19/pattern-review-burda-magazine-9-2010-121-turtleneck/

  2. For me, it’s often I don’t want to do anything complicated. I need seperates more than anyone, but the thought of slogging threw a shirt pattern depresses me.

  3. After I’ve finished an intense project, like your coat, I find I need to work on something familiar. I say make your B5147 dress again in a wardrobe staple colour (red? charcoal?) and then move on to your next dress. Be sure to post photos!

  4. I am in the midst of this exact same quandry so I HAD to respond. The Lady Gray sew-along reeled me in and I kept adding complications to the project that I won’t go into because it’s too much to consider at the moment. Like Cidell mentioned, separates are where I turn to for relief but, instead I head for the pencil skirt for my personal happy place. I’m looking for instant gratification, baby!

  5. Same here. Starting an advanced project that will be worn by an adult (i.e., me). Why else would I sew so many children’s clothes? (My method of procrastination.)

  6. For me it’s the pre-sewing, the fitting of the pattern. Any new pattern I use, I almost always do a muslin first. It’s such a process, I dread it but know that if I don’t the finished product will likely be discarded. But then, I’ve spent so much time on the muslin and then transferring the changes to the pattern that the actually sewing of the project goes quickly but is almost boring.

  7. For me, it’s just to get started. I know if I choose a new pattern there will be adjustment/alteration issues to deal with so if it’s something complicated it’s going to take time and I know I’ll need to do a muslin first. Then if it doesn’t suit me and I’ve put in all that work …. well, you can fill in the blanks!
    You know a sheath dress suits you, why not try a princess seam pattern? And there are plenty of reviewed turtleneck-type tops that people have made which will be fast and easy.

  8. If you’re stalled, the TNT might be a good option – no new skills to learn and you’ll likely feel really successful when it’s done. At least that’s how this procrastinator gets through it.

  9. I felt like this after I finished my coat, too. Happy, but exhausted. It was hard to move on. I agree with the people who suggest something quick, preferably in a pattern that won’t need much tweaking (so a TNT is perfect).

    Of course, I still need to finish-finish my buttonholes. 😛

  10. Finishing! I have no problem starting, I don’t mind working through tricky details like pockets and buttonholes.. but I get distracted before I finish sometimes.. oh look, shiny new fabric!

  11. Oh and I would suggest something quick and TNT when you’re feeling stuck, you’ll get that buzz from finishing something, and you already know it will fit!

  12. I am also very happy to be finished with my coat. It was such a long project. If my closet weren’t so empty I might take a break.
    But I am NOT going shopping. I’ll just sew something. Much easier.

  13. Marie-Christine

    If you think you’re being intimidated because the coat was too daunting, then go for the sheath already worked out. It doesn’t sound to me like you’re excited about new things, just balking at a pile of utilitarian sewing. And the best way to get through that is not to ask yourself too many questions.

    I tend to get bogged down trying to decide what to do next too. I love this, but I need this and this.. I’ve been really working on just doing something, anything, as a way to get myself out of that loop. I can easily spend enough time for 3 projects while deciding between 2 :-(. So less time on decision-making is a real plus. It does seem to be improving my productivity.

    But productivity isn’t the entire game. If you flog yourself till you don’t have any fun, you won’t keep at the sewing. I think it’s just fine to allow yourself to bask in ‘finished big project’ state for a bit :-).

  14. I’ve spent about two weeks putting off making a second muslin of a dress I’m working on. Because beyond that will be cutting into the fabric, and beyond that lies the possibility of failure – and I can’t bear it if I mess up the lovely fabric I’ve bought. In the face of failure, procrastination wins!

  15. When I need a palate cleanser I go for a quick knit dress or top. Easy, quick, and the stretch factor glosses over any fit issues.

  16. Starting is the hardest. Getting over the mental constipation of just sitting down to sew! Trust your instincts about pattern and fabric, sharpen your cutting-out shears, make that first snick-snick into the precious material, sit down in front of your machine and just … start.

Leave a Reply

