Project Runway no more

image from Project Runway on Lifetime TV

My friends, I am so disappointed with the choice of Gretchen last night, that I don’t think I can watch another season of Project Runway again.  There’s no denying that she came out strong with in the first two challenges, but week after week thereafter, she sucked.  The judges thought she sucked too.  Or so I thought.

I was really surprised when she made it to fashion week and from that point on I suspected that there was a plan in place for her to win the whole shebang.  Well, my suspicions were proven last night.

I think Michael C should have been in the final 3, not Gretchen and then she wins???  Her runway show was boring.  She used the same tired old print over and over again.  Her designs made me yawn.  There was no excitement, no ideas, no future.  All of her clothes looked RTW. 

Correct me if I’m wrong, but this show is about Design right?  Design with a capital D?  Nowhere in the word Design do I see the letters RTW.  Why on earth did they pick her???

On the Project Runway Facebook page last night there were thousands of comments deriding the choice of Gretchen as the winner with many, many people saying they would never watch again.  I think they made a serious misstep last night.  I can’t fathom why they would choose her.  What was the strategy behind it?  What was the ulterior motive?  What do they gain by choosing Gretchen?

I just don’t get it.  And they have lost me as a viewer.

Rant over.

15 responses to “Project Runway no more

  1. Gretchen’s collection sucked!

    PR has disappointed for so many seasons. And the people who I want to win never do. That’s it. Never again. I am so over this show.

  2. I watched it too! I was shocked! I felt so bad for Michael. I sometimes think that it is fixed. A person hates to think this way. But since Gretchen is the winner I hope she is successful!

  3. I watched it too! I was shocked! I felt so bad for Michael. I sometimes think that things might be fixed. A person hates to think this way. But since Gretchen is the winner I hope she is successful!

  4. I’ve been bore the last three years but last night was just too much for me

  5. Hi, I think it was Gretchen’s personal situation with with her lover, her finances and having to move out of her home. The judges simply felt sorrow for her. She knew herself that Michael was a much better designer. I think she was in total shock to have made the Final three. It was sooo rigged.

  6. My fiance and I decided in episode 1 that we did not like Gretchen, but that was primarily because she is a dead ringer for his ex wife. He kept saying “there’s no way I can stand watching her every week, I used to live with that” and I assured him that eventually she would go away.

    When she won last night we officially quit PR. I thought this season was overproduced (90 minute episodes? WTF? I have to go to bed at some point) and put too much emphasis on the drama and not enough on the designs. I feel the show has had a downward spiral in the last few seasons and I didn’t think any of the finalists were as strong as some designers from previous seasons. I do agree that Michael C should have been in the final, and Andy’s collection was so much more appealing.

  7. I too was disappointed when Gretchen won last night. I think she had some good design details in her clothes, but, come on…how many times do we have to see the same tired print reworked into something else? And weren’t the judges hard on Michael C about using the same color family in one of his collections? At least he didn’t use the same fabric for every look!

    I was truly hoping Michael C would get a shot, especially since he was so underestimated during the season (by the other designers, but NOT the viewers). Mondo’s collection was superbly made, full of color and fun, and I really thought he was the hands-down winner. Who knew?

  8. Yup, I’m sewing some Mondo-inspired pieces in the next weeks as my personal sign of protest.

  9. I can’t believe Gretchen won. I was disappointed, I felt for sure it would be Mondo. Her collection was boring and depressing. The world is sad enough without having to wear clothes like that. Mondo’s clothes were joyful.

  10. I think Gretchen was the wrong choice. But then, I didn’t think Seth Aaron should have won last year either. Maybe it’s me. I’m not really into Fashion with a capital F or Design with a capital D. But, I do like nice clothes. But even with my RTW sensibility (and Gretchen’s Designs were so RTW) I didn’t think Gretchen earned or deserved her win. I think I’m finished with Project Runway.

  11. I’ve had a love/hate relationship with PR for a number of years and have been watching less and less, but got pulled in again because of the interesting balancing act between Emilio and Seth Aaron particularly toward the end. I thought those two designers were powerhouses working together but each had to resolve weaknesses when working separately, a fascinating process of creativity and learning. This year? SA’s win re-inspired me to try harder with technique, etc., when I learned he had only been sewing for five years. This year? I’m out again…but still inspired by SA and Mondo.

    BTW, I think I commented on your own inspiring blog in a small way (maybe on your birthday?), but would like to repeat how much I enjoy your own contribution to inspiration and the joys of creation with fabric, needle, and thread.

  12. LOL…please pardon the repetition of “this year?” Umm…you know what they say about an eye for editing! (blushing)

  13. Yeah, I’d say that Gretchen is RTW–1970-80’s RTW. I kept shouting JC Penney at her, but I realize that’s an insult to JCP. Sears!

    I didn’t think much of Michael C as a designer. I thought April should have been in the final 3. I find it hard to say “I’m done” though. Where would I get my fix of Tim Gunn? Seriously, I think maybe PR should call an end to itself.

  14. I totally agree, I started reading a magazine during the last 20 minutes of the final. This season and the last one is the reason why I’ve pretty much stopped blogging about PR, and I used to be a total devoted fan. The judging was just odd and confused, and Gretchen showed clothes that was way worse than what she did during the season challenges, in fact I kinda liked her stuff in the beginning. I will watch next season though, because that’s how I am, but the luster is gone for sure.

  15. Cheap Burberry Handbags These furnishings certainly are a good
    choice. These types of Ugg Boots Clearance could be found in 2 colors from a
    shop at fine sand at the same time as saying. Delicately wipe
    it using a damp material, is not going to brush it fiercely that includes a brush, don’t melt away these comfortable shoes with boiled water, and do not use washing detergent and alkaline cleaning fluid to wash it on the same time.

Leave a Reply

