Burda Lite

Happy Thanksgiving! 

Remember how I ♥’d this skirt in the December Burda?

Burda 12-2009-112

Well, I made up the muslin yesterday (sz 40) and it fit!  Here’s a pic of my muslin. 

I can’t believe it but I actually understood all of the directions on my own without any help.  It’s a 1.5 dot pattern with 1 dot being the easiest, hence the title of this post.  It went together pretty easily.  I hope making up the fashion fabric goes even better.

stretch suiting from paron's

I pre-treated the fashion fabric (the grey one) by steaming it with a wet towel in the dryer and cut it out last night.  I have two yards left I think, in case someday I want to make a matching jacket or a dress. 

Today, while Jack is napping, I’ll try to sew most of it.  I am adding a lining using a method from this book, “Easy Guide to Sewing Linings,” by Connie Long.  It sure sounds easy.  Let’s hope that’s the case. 

I hope Jack takes a long nap!  😉

Happy sewing!

12 responses to “Burda Lite

  1. Cute skirt. I can’t wait to see the final result!

  2. Elizabeth – I’ve got that skirt fever too! Even though it doesn’t come in a plus size, I plan on working with it…though I think I’m taking a deeper pleat and stitching the pleat flat so that it won’t make my stomach look quite so big…well that is the thought now…I will let you know what I come up with!

  3. OOOOOO I loved that skirt, hope yours turns out perfect!

  4. It’s going to look great Elizabeth!

  5. Anytime you can understand Burda directions it’s a major accomplishment! Hooray!

    I think that’s a fantastic pattern… did Jack nap long enough to squeeze in some work on it yet? 🙂

  6. Oh goodie! You’re working on this one! Can’t wait to see it AND am very curious how you line it. I just couldn’t wrap my little brain around how to line it and not have bulk at that pleat so I left the lining out *LOL*. I just finished mine yesterday using a lightweight wool pinstripe. I’m planning on a solid color next.

  7. Oh goodie! You’re working on this one! Can’t wait to see it AND am very curious how you line it. I just couldn’t wrap my little brain around how to line it and not have bulk at that pleat so I left the lining out *LOL*. I just finished mine yesterday using a lightweight wool pinstripe. I’m planning on a solid color next.

  8. Your muslin looks good. You can sew on with confidence and make a beautiful skirt.

  9. Great start to a beautiful skirt.

  10. alright. I’m going to have to work this one out too. I have so many skirt lengths and all this chatter is pulling me in.

  11. Thanks a bunch for sharing this with all folks you actually realize what you’re speaking about! Bookmarked. Kindly also discuss with my web site =). We may have a hyperlink exchange agreement between us

  12. Hi there, just became alert to your blog through Google, and found that it’s really informative. I am gonna watch out for brussels. I’ll appreciate
    if you continue this in future. A lot of people will
    be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

Leave a comment