Pattern Review – Simplicity 2452

 

I just posted my review on PatternReview.com.  Here it is with added pictures of the construction of my skirt. 

 

 

 

Pattern Description: Misses’ jacket with front variations and skirt. I have made just the skirt so far but really like Jacket B and may make that in the future.

Pattern Sizing: 14-22, I made the sz 16 but took in the side seams a bit. I think the sizing on this pattern is pretty true to size. I initially made a 14 out of vanity, but my measurements said to make a 16. 

Did it look like the photo/drawing on the pattern envelope once you were done sewing with it? Yes, but maybe not as form-fitting.

Were the instructions easy to follow? Yes, they were. I guess my ability to translate sewing pattern directions is getting better. 😉

What did you particularly like or dislike about the pattern? I liked the simplicity of the lines of the skirt. I am looking for a simple pencil skirt to use as a TNT skirt for my work wardrobe.

Fabric Used: Wool stretch suiting from Paron’s in NYC — similar to the grey stretch suiting I bought from there as well, but the hand was different from the grey. The brown suiting feels a little more synthetic. Not my fave, but fine for this project. And the color fills a major hole in my work wardrobe.

Pattern alterations or any design changes you made: I shortened the skirt by 1.25 inches. The pattern calls for a 1.25 inch hem allowance but that covered my knee. I have noticed that hemlines have been creeping up lately and wanted to be in synch with everyone else at my workplace. I personally think a hemline below my knee is more flattering as my thighs and knees are a little chunky, but thought I should try out the shorter length and see how I felt. I think I will keep it at the shorter length; it feels more current and less school marmish.

As for sizing, I basically made a skirt that was between a sz 14 and sz 16 based on the fact that my sz 14 muslin was too tight in a rather compromising way. I pinned out the extra width on the skirt of the sz 16 at the side seams and altered the pattern to match, about 1/4 inch on each side for a total of an inch decrease on the circumference of the skirt.

I added a lining to this skirt even though the pattern is for an unlined skirt. Rant: I understand pattern companies needing to attract new sewists by offering easy, unlined patterns but I think they’re doing a disservice to us instead. Just because we are beginners, doesn’t mean that we don’t want a finished look and a complete garment. The frustrations we endure trying to add the elements of a garment they leave out actually deter us from having a great experience. For instance, due to the vent on this simple pencil skirt, I couldn’t just drop in a lining. Why? Because you have to construct the vent of the fashion fabric at the same time as the lining so that the individual vents work together, not separately or against each other. I did not know this and constructed my vent of the skirt separately from the lining and they fought each other. I had to unpick them both and resew them, together this time, to get the vent to work properly as walking ease as intended.  

Vent from right side

Vent from inside with lining attached

 

Check out that vent!

Would you sew it again? Would you recommend it to others? I am not sure if I will sew this skirt again, but mostly as a matter of taste. After making this skirt, which has no waistband, I think I know now that I prefer a waistband. I found using grosgrain ribbon (the pattern calls for twill tape, but I didn’t have any on hand) very fiddly. And I think I used the wrong size ribbon as it stuck out higher than it was supposed to, but doesn’t really show up on the finished garment when you wear it. If I were to make it again, I will insert the zipper at the center back as I think that kind of insertion is easier as it is not on a curved seam. I am not sure why, but after a day of wearing my skirt, the zipper has creeped higher than the waist band. Strange. 

sticky uppy zipper, hmmm....

Zipper inside with lining slipstitched to it

Conclusion: Good, workable skirt pattern. Instructions are good for an unlined skirt. Sizing is pretty true to pattern measurements. It’s a solid pattern, well worth checking out to see if it fits your life/tastes. 

8 responses to “Pattern Review – Simplicity 2452

  1. This is a really great outfit. (And the skirt length is perfect!)

  2. Good job. As for the zipper creeping up after wearing it a while, I think that was because of the lining. I think I recall you saying that the pattern did not call for a lining. It may not have done that without the lining. Try it without a lining next time. See if that works.

    Your wardrobe is growing pretty fast.

    Love, Mom

  3. Pretty outfit! I understand both sides of that about new sewers. Guilty of picking what I think will be an easy pattern, unhappy because easy means shapeless for the most part. Like you I lined a garment because I thought it best. After consulting my vintage sewing books everything turned out fine. Your outfit is very stylish and I love the necklace–perfect for this.

  4. I really love the new skirt! The length is perfect. I agree with you on wanting more lined skirt patterns – there don’t seem to be that many, at least from what I’ve noticed.

  5. The skirt looks great on you.

  6. Very nice skirt and length.

  7. I love the completed outfit, very flattering. Great job on the skirt and lining improvisation.

  8. Very nice! Simple knee length skirts are what I wear to work all the time too. They’re super versatile 🙂

Leave a comment