On the mend…

Well folks, I’m finally on the mend.  It only took two days off of work and sleeping off some of my sleep deficit for my immune system to kick in finally. 

I kept a steady stream of movies in the dvd player and Nick Jr on the tv for Jack today while I sewed (ah the luxuries of single parenting).  But I am still super behind in my Xmas sewing.  It took me 10 straight hours of  sewing to complete the flannel pj’s for my nephew Thor.  I used Simplicity 3584, the bottom left, View C. 

Simplicity 3584

Overall it’s a decent pattern.  There was only one small drafting error that I encountered.  It was the facing, which extended far too long.  In retrospect, I could have cut it off to match the shoulder seam, but I had tunnel vision at the time and now it’s too late.  Oh well.  I think the pattern is pretty simple; there’s no collar stand after all.  But I think it’s a little too intense or long of a project for Xmas jammies.  The top has so many details that are fussy, like the collar (despite no collar stand) and the pocket.  I’m on the fence as to whether the cut on facing is time saver or not. 

The jammies are definitely cute, but a lot of work.  And with my time constraints now, I am switching gears now and using last year’s knit jammies pattern, Kwik Sew 3510.  The only change I’ll make is to lengthen the torso on the tops. 

Kwik Sew 3510

Apologies, but I can’t show you the flannel pj’s until after Xmas.  My sister might check out my blog and I want it to be a surprise. 

I hope everyone’s Xmas sewing is going well. 

PS: I am so behind on reading blogs right now.  I have over 300 waiting for me on google reader right now, at least 90 of which are saved ones on which I need to comment.  There’s just too little time in the day.

8 responses to “On the mend…

  1. Just get completely well, get your Christmas sewing finished, don’t forget to enjoy Christmas 😉 … and then read your blogs!!

  2. I’m glad you’re feeling better. Try not to go too crazy with the gift sewing.

  3. So glad you’re feeling better! I’ve noticed your scrabbling has not suffered with your illness…

    Those patterns are both adorable. Jammies are always such a good idea, until I remember collars, set-in sleeves, and buttonholes!

    Last year I made travel pillow cases for my very young (under 5) cousins and they were quite the hit. And so easy, and easier on the purse than the bed pillow size.

    Good luck with your projects!

  4. rest up & feel better!!

    i can’t wait to see the PJs! I need to sew up a few pairs of them for gifts here as well. Hello Santa’s workshop day of sewing. 😉

  5. Sewista Fashionista

    Glad to hear you are feeling better. Kids PJ’s are such fun to make. Can’t wait to see them.

  6. Glad you’re feeling better! Don’t worry about reading, enjoy the holidays first! 🙂

  7. My mom makes flannel jammies for my nephews every year. I think she’s crazy to make them button tops with collars! I say drawstring flannel pants and t-shirt tops.

  8. I slept for 4 days to cure myself – sleep is amazing.

Leave a comment