Why I don’t like my Burberry trenchcoat

I love the classic look of Burberry and was really excited to buy my Burberry trenchcoat.  At the time (this was about 4 years ago), I hadn’t an inkling of my future sewing interest and knew nothing about well made clothes.  For some reason, I thought, because it was a Burberry coat, that it would be well-made.  Now I know better. 

full view

At the time of purchase, there were details I loved: the close fitting bodice, the belt, the pleats.  But now, some of those very same features are the ones that bother me the most: the close fitting bodice and the pleats.  In addition, two other “design details” are quite irksome: the famous Burberry lining and the high waist of this particular style. 

lining

  The lining is not slippery at all (except for the sleeves) so this coat “sticks” to everything I wear.  Why would you put in a non-slippery lining???  Isn’t that an oxymoron?  The high waist on me is not very flattering; my ribcage is the widest part of my torso from all the years of singing, so why I bought a coat with a high waist is a mystery.  The belt sits on this high waist, so I can’t even cinch a more flattering waist on me.  😦  The close fitting bodice makes wearing suits to work uncomfortable. 

 

 

  

  pleats

The pleats, which look so darling when freshly pleated, become  more unpleated with each wearing, partly due to the non-slippery lining I suspect.  This coat wrinkles like you wouldn’t believe and looks rumpled in 5 minutes of wearing.  And now to the innards…  The stupid lining hangs free from the coat and sticks to my clothes. 

 

  

hem and side seam

The seam allowances are serged with a plastic thread which breaks easily and is down right annoying.  The hem’s seam allowance is so wide that it flops down and is sometimes visible below the hem.  It just doesn’t look as nice on the inside as I think it should for as much as it cost.  Am I just being picky here?

 

 The sleeve lining is slippery at least.  And the buttonholes are nice.  sleeve

buttonholes

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Anyway, I just thought some of you might enjoy seeing a Burberry disappointment up close and personal.  So now I need a new trenchcoat… preferably one that skims the body and with a slippery lining.  Am I going to make it?  I think not, because remember: I’m the stupid person who serged a sleeve with the seam on the outside.  I don’t think I can be trusted with a complex project like a trenchcoat.  😦

10 responses to “Why I don’t like my Burberry trenchcoat

  1. oooh, you sound so disappointed! Chin up. I think tackling a trench coat project is a great idea. Maybe we could start a trench-along? I’d be interested in giving it a go.

    I really enjoy your blog, having found it just a couple of weeks ago. Keep sewing, and keep giving yourself credit for learning from any mistakes!

    Take care.

  2. I think those are perfectly valid reasons not to like your trench, and welcome to the wonderful world of “I sew, and even if I can’t make it, I know what’s wrong with it.” Been there, done that.

    There’s a nice raglan sleeve trench in one of my Ottobres, might be the one I sent you. Also BWOF has a few good ones, but I think Ottobre’s instructions would be more beginner-friendly.

  3. Too bad you don’t like the pleats/high waist because replacing the lining is a much less difficult project than constructing a new coat from scratch. You can use the old lining as a pattern with some suitably slippery fabric.
    If you spent a bundle, it might be worth it.

  4. Sara, Thanks for stopping by. You had me laughing about the trench-along… I think that’s way beyond my capabilities right now. BUT, I won’t necessarily negate it for the future. 😉

    Karen, looking at the Ottobre now.

    KD, that’s a great idea, and I would do it if I liked the high waist.

  5. I’m so sorry to hear about your Burberry trench. I’ve always wanted one — the allure of the brand — but will now think twice about it!

  6. I’ve been wanting a trench for years and I finally am comfortable enough with my sewing to give it a try. I know that it is going to take a while, and I accept that. My goal is to have one sewn by the middle of October, since that is when it is finally cold enough around here to justify needing that type of jacket. I have two patterns and just need to decide which one. I have been looking at fabric and have one sort of picked out, but I am such a newb that I always pick the wrong kind of fabric, so I might do a bit more shopping before I decide what to use. I also fully intend on making a muslin first (preferably a wearable one, since I don’t know if I have the time to sew it twice). I say bring on the Trench A Long!

  7. You should check out the stores for current collection. I would suggest a classic trench. I love all of mine!

  8. When I initially commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and
    now each time a comment is added I get three e-mails
    with the same comment. Is there any way you can remove people from that
    service? Thanks!

  9. henri plouk

    Indeed it looks terrible on you. You obviously, as you admit,, chose badly. I have rarely seen a model like this. Why could you not simply bought a classic (preferably vintage) trench ? They look chic with a nice silk scarf.
    Guess you have moved on by now.

  10. Loan Kenney

    I have a Burberry trench coat (the classic style) and I’m disappointed at the quality of the sewing and the lining fabric. The thread becomes unraveled after a few years and the lining fabric is of poor quality. It disintegrates with use. I contacted Burberry and they said they only warranty their coats for three years. I’ll get my seamstress to fix the coat and won’t recommend Burberry trench coats to anyone who is looking for quality.

Leave a comment